Chairman's Corner

I want to take this opportunity to thank members for attending both the special meeting and the AGM. It was great to see a good turnout to both meetings . As a result of voting at the AGM we are pleased to welcome  3 newly elected people on to the executive, Grant Craig, Courtney Kilner  and Philip Riley  and to welcome back Diane Nader. To those people that missed out  I would like to acknowledge their contribution to the OETT.


David Wood

David over the period on the executive has been a tireless advocate of the OETT, the immediate past Chair, Secretary, Treasurer and volunteer on innumerable cruise trains and an able representative of the OETT as one of the elected Board Members. I thank him for his quiet determination to get things done

Brian Crabbe

Brian in his term on the executive has been an invaluable person who was always ready to do any task that required to be done His knowledge of Health and Safety and expertise and calm manner dealing with DR staff and volunteers on cruise ship days often under pressure was appreciated

To Allan Boyer who was unsuccessful thank you for your interest


To bring you you up to date what has happened post the AGM our office bearers have been selected for the coming year and are as follows:

Chair - Murray Schofield

Deputy Chair and Excursions coordinator - Grant Craig

Secretary - Courtney Kilner

Membership / Marketing coordinator- Philip Riley

It was unanimously agreed in the first full meeting of the Executive to approach David Wood to continue as the treasurer for the coming year. David kindly agreed. This is an appointed position and as such carries no voting rights. The executive has carried on working actively in the background with the guardians of the train to offer suggestions and to put forward proposals  of how to get the train running again. To date we have had no news to report on how successful we have been with a OETT Santa Train Excursion 2020, but if we are successful there will have to be all hands of deck.


Murray Schofield, Chairman, November 2020